Stonesetting – Tube and Flush Setting

I began taking metalsmithing class at my local community college Fall of 2014. It was an advanced class so I was a little intimidated with only four days of soldering – all from taking classes – under my belt. Fortunately, we had an excellent teacher and I was taking the class with my buddy, Melissa. Furthermore, in the first session, we had a classmate who was very helpful and supportive. Thank you, Leslie! We couldn’t have done it without you!

The first of the seven-week sessions were all about stonesetting. Beginning with tube setting and flush setting, I decided to go with a couple pairs of earrings. They were very similar in design for I really wanted to concentrate more on the techniques.

Tube Setting

We used 4mm cubic zirconia. I decided to make some simple copper washers and discs and added different color cz. They looked a little plain so a little wire wrapping with sterling silver wire completed the design.

_MG_6299
Tube Setting

Flush Setting

To accommodate the cullet (point) of the cz, Leslie came up with this cool design of soldering a flattened sterling silver ball. I added the same wire wrapped sterling silver wire and added a textured metal clay disc. These had become one of my favorite pair of earrings!

_MG_6300
Flush setting

 

If you are interested in some stonesetting books, Creative Stonesetting by John Cogswell and Gemstone Settings by Anastasia Young are excellent.

 

Leave a Reply

