Foldformed Bowl

 

IMG_1172
Foldformed bowl

I was going to write about my metalsmithing projects chronologically from the firstOctober 2014 class on but for a variety of reasons (one being the multiple work-in-progress projects still to be completed!), I decide it’s best not to put any restriction on this writing endeavor! So we just jumped to 2016…

The first project of the current session is foldforming – a technique I have never done before and even though it doesn’t help the tendinitis on my elbows, it is FUN! It sure is one way to de-stress – pounding on metal – I highly recommend it!

Starting with a piece of 24-gauge, 6″ x 6″ copper sheet, we were to either use a square or a circular shape. I went with circular and decided to keep all my folds going just one way since cross folds often yield unwanted holes where the folds intersect.

As I was annealing, folding, pounding, unfolding, pounding, repeat, etc. etc., the piece of metal started to look like a shell. Thus when I was forming it into a bowl shape, I kept the ruffling on the edge and stopped short of an actual bowl shape to keep it looking like a shell. I know glass often times speaks to me as I flamework – guess metal does, too!

I used the method I learned from the Liver of Sulfur Secrets tutorial by Robyn Cornelius to add patina to the bowl. I see she has more tutorials up on her Etsy store … time to go shopping! 🙂 Incidentally, I highly recommend Robyn’s class, Artisan Metalsmithing Techniques: Layered Pendants, on Craftsy!

If you are interested in foldforming, check out Foldforming by Charles Lewton-Brain.

Leave a Reply

